CTP Distinguished Visiting Lecturers

P. Teb. 10

Each year the Center for the Tebtunis Papyri invites a distinguished scholar to present a public lecture, lead a seminar, and work with graduate students.  For 2016, our guest is James G. Keenan, Loyola University Chicago.  

Lecture: March 15th, 5:30-8:30pm. Morrison Reading Room, Doe Library
"They Were All About Dung Receipts!”: A Papyrologist’s Progress"  

Professor Keenan’s lecture reconsiders the stereotype of documentary papyrology as a data-driven, fact-laden enterprise. It goes on from there to an autobiographical segment that describes how from the 1970s into the 1990s Keenan arrived at the conviction that individual documentary papyri and documentary papyri in general can provide foundations for narrative reconstruction, this being one way to cut through the abundance of papyrological facts and create results that are more broadly intelligible.

Seminar: March 17th, 3-5pm. Bancroft Library, Room 479
"Checking Cargoes in Alexandria: Late Antique Correspondence of the Prefect of the Grain Supply"

Professor Keenan's seminar reevaluates the five extant documents emanating from the office of the prefect of the annona in Alexandria in Late Antiquity. It suggests the existence of a previously unrecognized type of document analogous to the modern "pricking note." This forms the basis of proposed corrections to the readings and consequent interpretations of all five documents and the need for new editions for at least two of them.



Past CTP Distinguished Lecturers

2015: Bernhard Palme, University of Vienna

2014: Nikolaos Gonis, University College London

2013: Kim Ryholt, University of Copenhagen

2012: Jean-Luc Fournet, Directeur d'études at the École Pratique des Hautes Études (IVe section)

2011: Richard Janko, University of Michigan

2010: Alan Bowman, University of Oxford

2009: Susan Stephens, Stanford University

2008: Richard Jasnow, Johns Hopkins University

2007: Ann Hanson, Yale University (Fall)

2007: Raffaella Cribiore, Columbia University (Spring)

2005: Paola Davoli, Università degli Studi di Lecce (Fall)

2005: Ann Ellis Hanson, Yale University (Spring)

2004: Willy Clarysse, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

2003: Dominic Rathbone, King's College London

2002: Dorothy Thompson, Cambridge University